Canadian ISP internet service provider locator logo                Comments for Eyesurf

Thu, Aug 18,
2016

The service is good, the company itself is great (very friendly customer support) but just be aware that they still use Bells lines or whatever so ur still at mother Bell's mercy. I signed up in middle of July and finally received my service today (2 something weeks later) because of some facilities delay with Bell or something. Although once my service was installed things have been working great and we have no issues
Rating:1
Service: dsl
City:

Thu, Aug 18,
2016

I ordered the Eyesurf 25/11 service bundled with digital phone in August of 2016 after shopping around following big price hikes on my cable internet service. I was under no illusion about the amount of work I would have to do to make this work in my own home but am quite familiar with setting up modems, routers and VOIP services.

Part of the deal is that you have to either rent or buy their modem/router/ATA device which is very reasonably priced at $99 compared to the competition. The advantage is that they put in all the settings so it works out of the box. The minus is that you can't supply your own modem / ATA if you happen to ave one lying around.

From the time of order, shipping was fast (two days, but I do live in Waterloo and the company is in Kitchener) and it was only two weeks to installation.

Installation of the dry loop went well. It was done by a Bell service technician who arrived during the promised time window (8 to noon). The tech made sure the proper line was coming to the house and that the modem had a signal coming to it. It was just a matter of plugging in the modem/router/ATA and the various devices to it and turn everything on. For me, everything worked out of the box.

I did have a couple of questions about accessing the device Eyesurf sent. There is little to no information on the website about accessing the device or the password needed. That meant a couple of calls to the dreaded call centre. I was surprised. For one call, after a minute or so on hold, I was sent to voicemail. I left a message and got a callback in ten minutes or so. On the second occasion, I had a live agent. In both cases, the agent was polite and if the answer was unknown, I was redirected t the right person. I got the answer I needed in both cases.

Right now, everything works as advertised. On an ethernet connection, I have the promised upload and download speeds both confirmed by the Oookla Speedtest website and another download test site. On their wireless router (Smart RG SR 630n), the rates drop off considerably when more than 15 feet from the router. For that reason, I wired in my own wireless router which has better coverage and am getting much better transfer rates at the same distance.

The phone setup was a bit more complicated as I wanted to use the house phone wiring that the Bell tech had disconnected and cut off except for the wire pair that supplies the DSL signal. Fortunately, my inside wiring has two pairs of wires so I used the second pair to get a signal back up the inside wiring and hooked up the remaining wiring again to allow any jack to be used. It took two hour or so t get it all running but the house has proper phone service too.

Overall, I recommend this service to anyone that is not afraid of doing their own work and that is conversant with setting things up themselves. If not, then get an installer to finish the setup. The plus is the money saved over time for what I consider to be a very reliable service with very good phone support.
Rating:1
Service: drydsl
City: Waterloo,
ON

Mon, Feb 03,
2014

In October 2013 I will have been with Eyesurf for 1 year. I am on their VIP package which includes DSL upto 10Mbps unlimited bandwidth and Traditional (not VOIP) phone service (which includes Unlimited calling across Canada, Call waiting, Visual Call waiting, caller id (name and number) call forwarding and three way calling), for $50. I have to say aside from 4 times that I was down for a day due to their providers equipment issue I am extremely happy with the service. I am using a 2Wire 2701 modem and can obtain 8Mbps down and 1Mbps up. I would highly recommend anyone who is within their VIP coverage area to consider switching to Eyesurf. I am also quite pleased with their level of technical supper and were very prompt when any issues were reported.
Rating:1
Service:
City: Kitchener,
ON

Mon, Dec 10,
2012

I went with Eyesurf after learning that no providers were offering cable internet in my area at the time (other than Rogers with their laughable prices and data usage caps). Service was pretty good for the first while. About 5-7 Mbps down most times according to Speedtest.net--fast enough to reliably stream at least 720p, and download files around 500-600 KB/s. Also happy with the unlimited calling to most places and especially the unlimited data usage.

I recently moved to a place about 60% further from my central office (CO), and now my speeds are below 1.5 Mbps. When the Eyesruf tech came by (not the Bell tech, that was the day before) for the install, he measured about 4 Mbps with his meter. Now I can't stream 720p for more than a couple seconds without it buffering, and files don't download much faster than about 100 KB/s. Also, my ping during a typical TF2 game to my usual server has gone from 60ms to about 110ms which is quite noticeable.

I'll admit I haven't had time since the move to contact Eyesurf directly about this so maybe it is fixable, but based on the comments from the tech I'm not optimistic.

It appears that a few ISPs do offer cable at my new place. Unfortunately I'm locked in my contract for a few more months after which I will absolutely switch if things don't improve.

I would recommend Eyesurf to anyone that is within 1 km of a CO.
Hello, and thank you for your comment. You're certainly correct about DSL speeds varying with distance. If the technician measured 4mb with his metre, and you are only getting 1.5mb according to your modem, then perhaps this could be a wiring issue. You mentioned that you have not yet reported this issue to technical support. I would encourage you to report this to see if there is anything provider-side that we can do to correct this. Our support team will also walk you through some steps to check if the trouble is local. You could also try testing at your inside terminal or even your NID (if you are able to) to eliminate your inside wiring from being a possible culprit. Last but not least, if you are still unable to resolve even after conversations with our technical team, please email info@eyesurf.net to ask about our cable offering, which should be launching soon.
Rating:0
Service:
City: Kitchener,
ON

Fri, Jun 01,
2012

I am greatly disappointed with Eyesurfs service. I ordered DSL, and it was either down or running very slow speeds. They refused to acknowledge any problems by them, and blamed me for everything. They billed me for all this poor service, I quickly had to find another ISP. My current ISP works fine, so It's not me who has the problem. Hello,

We certainly understand your frustration, given the symptoms that you have described. However, we also feel that the manner you have chosen to portray our response/support is inaccurately depicted.

While it is true that there are cases where bad wiring is the culprit of such trouble, it important to note that we would only make such a conclusion after our support agents have had a chance to thoroughly investigate.

This investigation process is a prerequisite to making such a conclusion, which we feel that you have unfairly excluded from your comment. For example, in your case, perhaps you were serviced from a CO with us, and a remote using your new provider. This would explain the difference in quality after switching to a new provider.

In any case, if you feel that our support agents had blindly blamed the trouble on your wiring without an explanation or investigation, then you would certainly be eligible for a refund, and we encourage you to email info@eyesurf.net to have your account reviewed

Sincerely,
Eyesurf Customer Service
Rating:-1
Service:
City:

Mon, Apr 09,
2012

Eyesurf is a friendly provider, though their speeds do vary greatly from location to location. The majority of their support staff are local and friendly, though several do have thick accents. They are usually more than happy to transfer you to someone with clearer speech if you ask politely.
Rating:1
Service:
City:

CLOSE WINDOW